Unpopular Opinions Book Tag | How Many Popular Series Can I Hate On?

I saw this tag floating around and thought it would be a really fun one to try!

1. A Popular Series That You Didn’t Gel With

Whenever I get asked this question I go with my standard answer: THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS. Please don’t burn me at the stake! I actually really wanted to love this series but to me it was SO BORING. There would be a super fast-paced scene and then just… nothing for like sixty pages. Clary also drove me up the wall. I know that Yarravy gets it ;). I’ve read the first three books and still, I just can’t get into it. I also tried The Infernal Devices but nope.

2. A Book Series That Everyone Hates But You Love

My automatic response is always The Selection. There is a lot of love for this series but there’s also a load of hate. Which, I mean, I get. America was not great at making good choices but I think that’s what I loved even more about this series: how unsure and human all the characters were. Even Maxon who I think is just perfection.

3. Love Triangle Where the Main Character Ends Up With the WRONG PERSON

I, in general, don’t pick up love triangle books because they usually annoy the heck out of me. But I did read the Wings quartet my Aprilynne Pike, and JUST NO.

SPOILERS FOR THE WINGS QUARTET:

I have no clue why Laurel picked Tamani over David! David is the sweetest guy in the world and Tamani is just some school boy crush!!! Her and David went through so much together. They literally gave each other oxygen when they were left to drown in a river!! David gave up a normal life to help her!! UGH!! I read this series three years ago and I will never be over it.

dontgetit.gif

4. A Popular Book Genre That Just Ain’t Your Thing

I actually hardly ever pick up a fantasy novel. Which is weird because when I do, I really enjoy them. I also don’t read a lot of Dystopian books.

5. A Beloved Character That Grinds Your Beans

A LITTLE SPOILERY FOR THE HEROES OF OLYMPUS SERIES:

Sorry in advance to all you demigods out there but LEO. I really, really don’t like Leo. I’ve only just started House of Hades and that’s because every time I get to a Leo chapter, I really don’t feel like reading it anymore. Firstly, because he’s always talking about not having a girlfriend (GET OVER IT DUDE, YOU’RE TRYING TO SAVE THE WORLD HERE). Secondly, because he’s constantly complaining that he’s weak. Like, Leo, you built the ship that we’re flying in right now. Thirdly, Frazel is one of my favorite ships and I’m worried he’s gonna ruin it.

6. A Popular Author That Just Doesn’t Interest You

Cassandra Clare. Sorry guys but, like I said earlier, I really have no interest in The Mortal Instruments or any of her other series’. Something about the writing makes me hopelessly uninterested.

7. A Popular Trope That Makes You Say “NOPE”

I really don’t have one for this. I like the “bad boy with a heart” and the “golden boy with a sad story” tropes. I guess if I had to pick, I would say love triangles. However, if they are done well, I can enjoy the book.

8. Popular Series You Have No Interest in Reading

Don’t hate me but I have no inkling to read… The Hunger Games… or Divergent. You see, I tried to read Divergent, and I just didn’t connect with any of the characters. As for The Hunger Games… I just don’t feel like it. I have so many books on my TBR and I’m not gonna read a book I’m not interested in just because of all the hype surrounding it.

giphy.gif

9. And Finally: The Saying Goes “The Book is ALWAYS Better Than the Movie”, But What Movie is Better Than the Book?

My pick for this last one is Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. 70% of the reason I even read the book was because I knew that the movie was coming out. And I don’t read a lot of Comedy but I really did not like that book at all. Greg drove me insane most of the time and was more prone insult someone than actually describe them in a way I could understand. I felt like Rachel was more of a secondary character than The Dying Girl, and Earl cussed so much I couldn’t even understand most of what he said. The movie was okay, I didn’t love it.

If anyone wants to do this tag, I officially tag you! Have fun! : )

Do you agree with any of these extremely unusual opinions? Do some of these things make you want to scream? Or did reading this post make you want to scream? Tell me in the comments!

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

 

8 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag | How Many Popular Series Can I Hate On?

  1. I agree with the Cassandra Clare and Mortal Instruments. I don’t like them or her in particular and I’ve read several of her books.

    Like

      1. Yeah, I agree. Also there was this huge issue where she was accused of copyright and plagiarism and it made it so much harder for me to like her stuff.

        Like

  2. I love Cassandra Clare and am actually currently reading (and loving) Clockwork Angel, but I understand why you wouldn’t like it. I am very into the romance as well as the action, and Cassandra Clare is the author who made me love paranormal books! There are definitely times where nothing is really happening in the books, and the story line for Clockwork Angel is pretty similar to City of Bones, so sometimes I do get slightly annoyed, but overall I am loving it. I really want to read The Selection, though!! The covers are gorgeous and the synopsis sounds so amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

