Let’s Talk: Novellas

So I totally created this short little discussion on a whim because honestly, there’s a lot to talk about when it comes to books. And for today, I’ve got to discuss: novellas.

Full disclosure, I’ll probably pick up a novella if it’s part of a series that I’ve read, even if I don’t think that I’ll love it. Why? Because I’m yearning to fall back into that world. I’m desperate, really, to catch even a glimpse of these characters when I thought I’d never see them again. And, sure, sometimes that novella quenches that thirst (or in my case, only makes you thirstier). You get to see characters after the story ends, or in between two books. Or you get to hear about their back story. Or you get insight on secondary characters that you were in love with! Plus, novellas are a great way to add to your Goodreads Reading Challenge!

gif-1

*queue the screeching brakes effect* Slow your roll, buddy. When immersing yourself in the world of novellas there are a few things you must remember:

  1. Depending on the novella, it can be super short. And I mean, super short. For example, RenΓ©e Ahdieh, who wrote the amazing story of Shahrzad and Khalid from The Wrath and The Dawn duology, also wrote The Crown and The Arrow, which is a novella. I was overjoyed when I saw it because this duology is my jam but… I was disappointed. It was nine pages. Nine. Like… huh?
  2. You won’t really care about the characters. True, you could get to read about just the character that you wanted. But a lot of the time, the novella is about a side character that didn’t really do it for you. Or it could even be about a completely outside character that may have been mentioned in the series.
  3. It’s just… there. Don’t get me wrong, I love hearing about my favorite character’s lives when the spotlights are turned off. But, even though I absolutely adore the trilogy so far… Until Midnight by Melissa Landers, which sits between the Alienated trilogy’s book one and two, was… just a filler. Which is totally okay if that’s what you’re looking for! But… I didn’t really learn anything interesting or unknown about the characters, which is really what I look for in a great novella.

Are you as guys as conflicted about novellas as I am? Or did I totally rain on your novella party parade? Can you recommend any great novellas for a bookworm such as myself? Tell me in the comments! πŸ™‚

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

10 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: Novellas

  1. One of the best novellas I’ve read has got to be Four, from the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. It gave a lot of cool insight about his character previously unknown. Then again, The Selection novellas were absolutely amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry! I should’ve explained! A novella is kind of like a long short story or a short novel. It’s usually pretty short either way. I’ve only seen a few over one hundred pages. I’m pretty sure they’re always in between, before, or after a series and never stand on their own. So, yeah, it’s usually like an extension but it’s not fan-fiction because it is from the authors themselves. Hope that helped! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the explanation – I think I read a novella quite a while ago, now that I think about it. It was a spin-off story from Twilight following the life of one of Victoria’s vampire slaves… although I can’t remember for the life in me what it was called!

        Like

Leave a Reply

