July Mini Reviews

Happy August everybody!!

I read a few good books this month and wanted to share them with all you guys! So, here is each of them, with each of their own mini (and non-spoilery) reviews.

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro: 4.5 stars

Incredibly likable protagonist with rich secondary characters that all had unique personalities. Plus, it’s an awesome mystery with a bunch of murders. Oh, and did I forget to mention that it is about the descendents of SHERLOCK HOLMES AND JOHN WATSON? Because, yeah, it is. I actually wrote a full non-spoilery review right here.

Crossing the Line by Katie McGarry: 3.5 stars

Just a quick electronic novella that belongs to the Pushing the Limits series my Katie McGarry. It was a pretty solid, and quick, read. However, as I mentioned in my novella discussion post, it was about characters that I didn’t care much about. But Lincoln was cute, so it was worth it.

Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken: 5 stars

Yeah, yeah, I know, I’m a little late to The Darkest Minds party, but after hearing my friend rave about it, I had to pick it up. I must say that I enjoyed Never Fade A WHOLE LOT MORE than the first book because it started off with a bang. Even though I was pretty mad at the end of The Darkest Minds, I’m really glad that I picked up its sequel and will finish the trilogy soon.

Behind the Scenes by Dahlia Adler: 4.5 stars

You know when you read a really cute contemporary that makes you grin from ear-to-ear the entire time you’re reading it? Well, that was Behind the Scenes for sure! The main character’s insecurities were understandable, her flaws relatable, and her feelings totally warranted. This is an A+ Hollywood contemporary!

Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers: 3 stars

Wasn’t bad, wasn’t amazing. I’d never read from the point of view of someone who is deaf and it was really interesting to see how Ali talked about the physical signs of a groan instead of just the verbal, and things like that. Plus, she was pretty sassy and Jace was nice, I guess. But when I was writing this review, I had to look up both their names to make sure I had the right ones so… yeah, didn’t love it.

Legend by Marie Lu: 5 stars

SO SO SO SO SO GOOD. I am totally late to board the Legend train but I am so glad I bought a ticket because I could not stop reading. The differences between the characters point-of-views were so clear, even without the font change. Generally, I don’t even like dystopian but this is a huge exception. I love June and Day. The action scenes are interesting, the non-action scenes are interesting, everything is so interesting. Highly, HIGHLY, recommend. The best book I read all month. I see the sequel in my near future.

Happy-Loki-GIF

Have you guys read of these books? Agree or disagree with my opinions? How was your reading month? Tell me in the comments! 🙂

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

 

6 thoughts on “July Mini Reviews

  1. JORDYN LEGEND IS THE ACTUAL BEST AND THE SERIES ONLY GETS BETTER AND MORE EMOTIONAL! IT’S SO WONDERFUL! You’re going to love it. I also suggest The Testing series, another incredible series!

    Like

Leave a Reply

