Confessions of a Bookaholic | School Has Ruined My Reading Life

I am in a reading/bookstagram/book blogging slump.Β The first step is admitting I have a problem, right? Great… now what???

If you couldn’t tell by my nine day absence, I am in a slump 😦 . I hate to make excuses, but school just started and… I just stopped. Stopped reading, stopped writing, just stopped. And that sucks because I have so many books on my TBR (as any bookworm does) and I’ve been reading the same one for almost three weeks!

So, in the spirit of confessions (and in a hopefully successful attempt to get me back in the swing of things), I’ve compiled a short list of my bookish confessions/facts about me.

I use Home Depot paint color samplers as bookmarks. I get a lot of weird looks when I’m reading at school and people see me pull a ‘Fuzzy Duckling Yellow’ paint sampler out of my book. I only had them because I thought they would look nice in my bookstagram photos but I couldn’t get them to work so… bookmarks.

I highlight and write in my books. And I don’t mean a novelΒ for school. I’m talking The Selection, The Wrath and the Dawn, A Thousand Pieces of You, the whole shebang. They’re all filled with highlighted stuff because: 1) It kind of marks the book as mine, you know? And 2) Tabs really, really annoy me. I don’t know why, but they just kind of do. Don’t worry, I would never crease the spines of my paperbacks or dog-ear pages – I could never.

I live for the library. I know most people like to buy a book before they read them, but not me. For the most part, I thrive off of the library. Because a) I get to read books for free! Score! Also b) hardcovers or oh so expensive and since most of the books I buy are hardbacks, libraries are an awesome reprieve for my wallet and c) if I borrow a book (unlike if I buy it) and hate it, no harm, no foul.Β Of course I still buy books, but probably not as much as the average book-obsessed blogger. Plus, libraries have ebooks,too! I don’t even have to leave my house!

world-without-internet-gifs-library.gif

I give about half the books I read five stars. I’m just really easy to please. However, I rate a lot of books five stars on Goodreads because they don’t have half stars and I prefer to round up rather than down. Also, I’ll rate a book five stars when I flip the last page and then four months later, go back and mark it as a three because I’ll realize it really wasn’t that great.

I haven’t finished the Harry Potter series. I just… haven’t. At some point in my life, I realized that I had seen the movies but never read the books! *GASP* BUT, I can recite most of the lines from the movies… Anyway, I started to read the series. However, thanks to my STUPID SLUMP I’m stuck halfway through Order of the Phoenix. I will DEFINITELY finish this series though, because I LOVE IT, and then I won’t be a fake fan anymore! Yay!

So there you have it, my bookish confessions.

Did my confessions make you laugh or cringe or say “SAME!”? Or perhaps all three? Do you have any embarrassing/shameful/totally hilarious confessions? Remember, the first step is admitting you have a problem! Tell me in the comments! πŸ™‚

Jordyn is currently in the healing stage of her slumps and is expected to makeΒ  full recovery with only a bit of mental scarring.

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

 

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Bookaholic | School Has Ruined My Reading Life

  1. I have never been more happy to hear someone else admit they haven’t finished Harry Potter. I am also stuck about half way through order of the Phoenix but I’ve seen all the movies so I know what’s coming so the motivation is just not there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

