September-ish Mini-ish Reviews

So… 16 days since my last post. I’m… ugh. I’m really sorry, guys. I miss books! And blogging! And bookstagram! I need to pull myself together! So, with Hurricane Matthew making it’s way through Florida, I get a day off from school, and some time to blog!

flint-lockwood

These are September-ish mini-ish reviews because I did read a couple of these this month. I’m only including them because my September month in terms of reading was a little pathetic. They’re mini-ish, because I got a little carried away with some of them. They are all spoiler-free. First off, we have:

Boys of Summer by Jessica Brody: 5 stars

I was walking through Target when I just happened to come across the book section (totally accidental, obviously). I saw Boys of Summer and thought “eh, why not?”

GUYS. IT WAS REALLY, REALLY GOOD. It’s told from the point of view of three guys, all best friends. At first, I was like “This is just a pallet cleanser because this book isn’t gonna cut me real deep”, but it did. It was a little more… poetic, than I thought it would be, at times. It was also kind of funny, but mostly just… addictive. It had me wishing it would never end.

That’s the thing about bridges. Once you cross over, there’s no need to go back.

Nobody stays on a bridge forever. Eventually everyone continues to the other side.

Even me.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: 4.5 stars

WOOAAAHHH now I see what everyone was talking about. I’m a little late to the Six of Crows train, but man, oh man, I am climbing aboard. At first, I was a little worried about having so many different POVs in one book, and them all being in third person. But it worked so incredibly well.

Honestly, I felt like it was a little slow in the beginning. It took me about sixty pages to get into, and a couple of times in the middle of the book, it got a little slow. But other than that… this book was golden. The characters were all so lovable (especially Jesper and Wylan and Matthias). Only other complaint? WHERE WAS THE WYLAN POV?? I was waiting for that the entire book. He better be more main in the next book because him and Jesper = life.

Too Late by Colleen Hoover: 4 stars

Now, this is technically a Wattpad book. But since she’s written a lot of published stuff, and is so very talented, I decided to include it in this post.

I liked Too Late, a lot. It was extremely addictive, and handled really serious topics, really well. However, it was a little too… graphic for my taste. It’s way more graphic than anything I’ve ever read, and even though I wasn’t expecting fluffiness and cutesy romance, it was still a little much, in my opinion. But! If that kind of stuff doesn’t bother you at all, I highly suggest you check it out!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs: 4 stars

Another book that I seem to be late to the party for. Full disclosure: 70% of why I read this book was so I could watch the movie. I had wanted to read it before, but it wasn’t exactly high on my list. I’m already planning on doing a book vs movie post about this book, so look out for that! I’ll link it back here when I’ve posted it!

In short, the book wasn’t incredible, but also wasn’t not incredible. It was solid, interesting, and had a few surprises that I didn’t expect.

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios: 5 stars

kristen-bell-happy-crying

In a word: beautiful. This book was just, plain and simply, beautiful. I finished it last night and I want to write a full review on it, but I am dealing with so many feelings over this book, I don’t even know where to begin.

It deals with such serious and real topics in a way that will make you laugh, cry, and mourn for everything that the characters have lost. Josh and Skylar were incredibly strong when everything in their lives was falling apart. I found myself tearing up more than once. This is officially one of my favorite contemporaries. Guys, you have to read this book.

On that happy (and emotional) note, I hope you guys enjoyed this post!

Have you read any of these? Did you like them? Do you have the secret to being busy and still blogging because, if so, REVEAL THEM TO ME, PLEASE. Tell me in the comments! 🙂

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

 

2 thoughts on “September-ish Mini-ish Reviews

  1. I thought the same thing about miss Peregrine’s. Wasn’t impressed but I did like it. Have you had a chance to see the movie yet ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

