Miss Peregrine’s Home for Disappointing Movie Adaptations | Lots of Raging

As soon as I finished the book, I rushed to go see the movie. Time to analyze what was good, what was bad, and who was good looking (spoiler alert, it’s Asa Butterfield :)).

Fair warning: this post is going to contain a lot of ranting, and a whole lot of spoilers, for both the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children book and the movie.

SPOILERS AHEAD.

First, the book review:

Book: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Star Rating:Β 3.5 stars

GIF Rating:

Write-a-thesis.gif

The plain, old truth is that the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children movie is just okay. There were some exciting parts, but nothing blew me out of the water.

The characters themselves were my favorite part, I think. They were all really original, and reading about all the different peculiarities definitely made this book more interesting and unique.

I wasn’t sure how I would feel about all the photographs within the book, but they worked very well. I got excited whenever I saw one coming up, because it helped with visualizing the peculiars.

I did really like how the hollowgast ended up being Dr. Golan. It was a great twist that really got me interested in the ending.

The romance between Jacob and Emma.. is… well… kind of weird. She was cuckoo-for-coco puffs crazy about Jacob’s grandfather, with all the letters and everything (even though it seemed like he wasn’t really that into her). Next second, she’s putting the moves on Jacob. I’m not against the relationship, but I’m not very supportive of it either.

Overall review: I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it. Will I read the next one? Maybe, maybe not.

NOW LET’S TALK ABOUT THE ABOMINATION THAT WAS THE MOVIE.

Okay, maybe abomination is a little strong, because, really, what can you expect from about 75% of book to movie adaptations?

What was good?

Nothing.

Just kidding!

  • I liked Miss Peregrine in the movie, almost a little better than in the book. She seemed much calmer and fun, but firm at the same time.
  • I liked the actor that they picked for Jacob (although maybe I’m biased because I’m a little in love with Asa Butterfield). He’s kind of how I imagined book Jacob.
asa-butterfield
Just look at that face.

 

  • Tim Burton was the perfect person to direct it with all his attention to detail.

What was NOT SO GOOD?

  • Let’s talk about Emma. FIRST OF ALL, why was did Emma have Olivia’s powers? Her peculiarity is fire, not air!?!? Also, she didn’t hate Jacob in the beginning like she was supposed to. It was like she was already crushing on him, right from the beginning.

dug-i-have-just-met-you-and-i-love-you-up

  • While I liked the actor that was picked for Jacob, the actual character Jacob in the movie could be thick as mud sometimes. He just leads that bird watcher into the loop and doesn’t even think that he might be dangerous. Just goes ahead and says “Hey, stranger, do you happen do be a peculiar.? Because, let me just be clear, THIS IS TOTALLY A TIME LOOP, YOU GOT US! Haha.” Okay, so maybe not exactly like that, but you get the picture.
  • As for the children in general, what is with the age change? Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t Enoch supposed to be around 11? Maybe 12? But in the movie he looked about ready to go to college! Same thing for Fiona and Hugh, who are supposed to be teens, but are, instead, elementary school age. NOT OKAY.
  • There’s something, that really, really bothered me, and I’m not even sure if everyone else cared but… HOLLOWGAST CANNOT GO INTO THE TIME LOOPS. That’s like reason #1 of why the loops even exist, because they are safer than the real world. Otherwise, what is the point of a loop?? Because it’s fun to cheat death?

Not LIke That.gif

  • And finally, ladies and gentlemen, what you’ve all been waiting for… THE ENDING. I have no clue what that was. Now, if I hadn’t read the book, and just seen the movie, it would’ve been a fun, sweet ending. But I did read the book, so NO. Why did they feel the need to change everything? Travelling to a different time loop? Slaying a group of hollows and wights? Where do they come up with this stuff? I ask you.

Overall rating for this book to movie adaptation? Around 66%. D+

Overall rating for the movie alone? Around 86%. B+

Most of my criticism was for the things that they changed, not really that the movie itself sucked.

What did you think the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children book? And the movie? Am I being too critical, or not critical enough? Are you in love with Asa Butterfield, too?? Tell me in the comments! πŸ™‚

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

 

 

4 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Disappointing Movie Adaptations | Lots of Raging

Leave a Reply

