The Goodreads Struggle: Published 2017 | I Have a GIF Problem

We’ve all been there. You’re browsing through your Goodreads, maybe rating a book you just finished, and you scroll down to the bottom (for mobile users) or glance to the right (for non-mobile users). You guessed it, I’m talking about that enticing little heading titled Readers Also Enjoyed. You think to yourself, “Eh, what the hey? That huge English paper isn’t due ’til tomorrow, so I’ve got plenty of time to procrastinate!”

You click on a cover that looks mildly interesting, let’s call it Book A, and you read the blurb. Then you’re like “Hmm that sounds like a delicious plot right there, maybe I should get Book A right-” and then you see it. Published [insert month] 2017. Twenty-who-now?!?!

The feelings ensue:

k6o6m

It’s okay though!! You may have to wait a little while until you get Book A, but then you just scroll down until you see Readers Also Enjoyed. That’ll get you a good book, won’t it? You click on Book B, read the blurb, find it fantastic, plan on emptying your wallet for it and BAMB! There it is again: Published 2017. NO, NOT AGAIN!

cant-deal

But you haven’t given up yet. You try to do the same thing with Book C, then Book D, and so on. You catch my drift.

tumblr_inline_mrlfvgrtl91qz4rgp

I cannot begin to tell you how many times this has happened to yours truly. Honestly, it’s almost comical how often I get sucked in. I’m just adding book after book to my TBR knowing that I’m going to have to wait an eternity until it’s mine. Before I know it, I’m reading blurbs of a bunch of books that don’t even have covers, yet. I end up stalking its Goodreads page, as if the book’s release date will magically change. I find myself in a downward spiral, thinking, Do I need to wait until 2017 to read a good book??

The answer, my friend, is no.

It may seem that all the good books are only coming out next year, but when you get that lousy idea into your head, remember a few things.

1. You probably thought the same thing last year. I know it’s hard to go all the way back to 2015 (practically the Stone Age) but I guarantee that you had a million anticipated releases for 2016 last year, and now they are almost all released! The time did come!

2. Even though it seems like it is, 2017 is not very far away. It’s October! 2017 begins in a couple months! (I know, I can’t believe it either!!) All you have to do, is sit in your comfiest reading chair, and wait…

Waiting.gif

(Or, you know, send the author a strongly-worded email. Whatever works.)

3. DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA how fantastic it is going to feel when that waiting is done?? The gratitude, the proudness at your patience… it almost makes it worth the wait…?? Right?? Maybe??

Hahaha No.gif
I think my GIF obsession has reached a new high.

Seriously, though. Don’t let yourself get crazy about it! If you find yourself spiraling, close Goodreads, and take a moment to appreciate the books that you do have, and the ones that have already been released. Because trust me, folks, there is no shortage of those.

Am I the only one that deals with the Goodreads Struggle? (Probably.) Do you have similar struggles? How do you wait for an anticipated release? Do I use WAAAYYY too many gifs? (Also probably.) Tell me in the comments! 🙂

P.S. Here are some 2017 releases that I found during some recent Goodreads Struggles. Now we can wait together! (just because I like to torture you guys)

Change in Latitude by Jen Malone

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

In a Perfect World by Trish Doller

#famous by Jilly Gagnon

The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren

It Started With Goodbye by Christina June

Cold Summer by Gwen Cole

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

12 thoughts on “The Goodreads Struggle: Published 2017 | I Have a GIF Problem

  1. BAHAHHA #RELATABLE. I had no patience and can never wait for books like I can’t even wait for the car ride to the bookstore or library I just need ALL THE BOOKS RIGHT NOW RIGHT NOW RIGHT NOW.
    I spy with my little eye WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI!!! Literally looks like the rom com of my dreams WITH AN INDIAN-AMERICAN like meeeee wahoo!!

    Like

  2. 2017 will be my year I tell ya *hoot hoot* so many good books, i’m most excited for Caraval! WHY IS IT RELEASED ON JANUARY *cries it seems so great and the UK edition is just stunning, pls take me now + my fave author Michelle Hodkin is publishing again! and LEIGH BARDUGO IS WRITING A CATWOMAN BOOK TO BE RELEASED NEXT YEAR! LIKE WHAT? pls spare my soul 💔

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have to admit that one of my problems is that I get excited about books getting released in 20-whatever, but by the time the actual publishing date comes around, I am so swamped with so many other books that I forget about half them. My TBR is an unconquerable beast.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I get this too! SO MANY GOOD BOOKS RELEASING TOO FAR AWAY. Usually its when you’re already on the 2017 books that they keep giving you later released books but there are just too many brilliant sounding ones that I can’t stop browsing! Haha it does help me get to progressing some of my overwhelming TBR though XD Really great post! I AM EXCITED FOR SO MANY OF THOSE RELEASES TOO! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

