This is THE WORST Reading Slump of My Life | SEND HELP

BEFORE THIS POST BEGINS, I’d just like to say THANK YOU GUYS SO MUCH FOR 50 FOLLOWERS! I got the notification last week and totally forgot to post about it! I can’t believe there are actually 50 (56, now) of you that actually think my ramblings are somewhat interesting. Thank you, thank you, thank you. A special thanks to Kat from Life and Other Disasters for being my 50th AND to Yarravy from Hiraeth For The Pages for featuring me on her blog, which definitely added a few followers to my tally!

Now onto the slump in question.

It’s bad, guys. Like, BAD. Like I-can’t-even-remember-the-last-book-I-read bad. Seriously, I had to go to my Goodreads page to find it. And you know what it was? MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN. GUYS. I read that right before the movie came out on September 30th. You might be thinking, Come on, Jordyn. So you haven’t been reading the past few weeks? What’s the with the freak-out post?

big-deal

I SHALL TELL YOU WHAT THE BIG DEAL IS. My Goodreads goal is 100 books this year. Do you know how many I’ve actually read? 48.

44041-oh-my-god-stephen-colbert-nati-lqyd

At this point, I’m not even sure if I should be laughing, or crying. Probably laughing, since reading 52 books in two months is pretty much impossible. Especially considering I have school, other activities, and NaNoWriMo. For some reason, it really hasn’t sunk in until now that I will not be reaching my goal and it kind of sucks.

I read 79 books last year. I was proud. I was flying high. So on New Year’s Eve when my sister and I decided to both shoot for one hundred, I was pumped, ready, and excited to get my read on. Last year I flew through books like they were nothing. I was reading book, after book, after book.

This year?

tumblr_n90mtzicou1r8lxnoo7_r1_500

I pick books up and put them down. I buy more and stuff them onto my shelves. I get so excited about a new release, then forget to read it. I spend a whole month battling through 350 paged novel. My reading life is so inconsistent. All the way back in February, I could tell I was falling out of rhythm, and I just never managed to get back in step.

Sure, I had the odd few weeks where I got through books relatively quickly. I’ve read a few books this year (like Six of Crows, The Wrath and the Dawn, and The Crown) that have completely captivated me. But, for the most part, I moved at snails pace. It’s kind of like I’ve been at different levels of reading slump-iness all year, partially recovering, then falling back under. (I know, I know that my ‘slow’ reading schedule is normal for some people and THAT IS TOTALLY COMPLETELY ABSOLUTELY FINE. This post is more about how my reading consistency has changed.)

I’ve tried EVERYTHING to get out of these slumps. Contemporaries, rereading, Harry Potter – nothing is working. Usually my slumps last a couple of weeks – a month at most.

I genuinely miss reading. I miss completely falling into book after book. A bibliophile can only survive a slump for so long. Books are more than just a source of entertainment for me: they’re a stress reliever, an inspiration finder, and a great way to be antisocial.

1cc2172f9c4d83200d53d956dd84ef61

NaNoWriMo is tomorrow, which means even less reading. I’m really excited for A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray coming out TOMORROW (SQUEEEEEEEE) but will I even be able to get into it? My sister and have planned a huge readathon for Thanksgiving weekend, but will my slump comply? UGH SO MANY UNANSWERED QUESTIONS.

What was the point of this post, you ask? Mostly to feel sorry for myself. What a productive Monday!

Am I being over-dramatic? Will the slump resolve on it’s own? Do you have any slump-breaking methods for me: books you read, concoctions you brew, demons you exorcise? Are you in a slump, too? (Let’s wallow in misery together!) Tell me in the comments! 🙂

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

 

6 thoughts on “This is THE WORST Reading Slump of My Life | SEND HELP

  1. CONGRATUALATIONS! I am so so happy for you! Haha no need to thank me, you deserve it all! ❤ I am, however, SO SORRY FOR THIS READING SLUMP THAT HAS POSSESSED YOU. No human needs this reading slump and I cry tears for your pain! Last month I went into a semi-slump where I just kept picking books up without finishing them! It wasn't that I didn't want to read or that I didn't enjoy them BECAUSE I LOVED SOME but I just… couldn't?! That was horrible but A YEAR!? So much good luck to you! Hopefully you can move past this soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Sorry it took so long to respond, I missed your comment 😅. But yeah, the slump is real. OH MY GOSH I DO THAT TOO. I have like five books just sitting on my shelf that I’m like fifty to a hundred pages in but I don’t know when I’ll get back to them. Some school holidays are coming up soon though, and hopefully that’ll push me to read more!! Thanks ❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. YAY! I feel honored to be you 50th follower! I am sure there are many more that will follow and so many more posts to celebrate.
    I hear your struggle with reading! I have had the same problem the past 2 months … well, not the same … but I did read considerably less than usual. All the while my physical TBR keeps growing and will devour me in no time *sigh* You know what I do when I can’t seem to get into reading even though I want to? I binge watch a TV show. That mostly helps. I kidd you not, I watched all 5 seasons of Lost Girl in 3 days after that I needed a one-day-break for my eyes and then I could read again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

