December TBR | My Take on #DiversityDecBingo

Happy Monday, bibliophiles!

I haven’t talked much about diversity on this blog. However, it makes me unexplainably happy to see what the YA world is turning into. Everywhere I look, more and more, I’m seeing diversity pop up. 2017 has so many fantastic books going on sale. As someone who spent a lot of her childhood watching my favorite Disney shows and thinking I wasn’t pretty because I didn’t look like the characters, I know how important representation is. Seeing someone that looks like me battle dragons, teenage melodramas, and find love? That’s a beautiful thing! It’s inspiring to see a community that I love fight for the representation of people that look like me, and so many others! #WeNeedDiverseBooks

Onward! If you’re into book twitter (AND WHY WOULDN’T YOU BE??), you’ve probably heard of #DiversityDecBingo.

If you haven’t, however, I’ll give you the rundown:

cyurmviukaanvpb

Basically, the idea is to promote diverse authors and books. Mulitiple bookstagrammers/book bloggers/book-twitter people (is there a fancy name for that one?) went into creating this awesome challenge. As you can see above, diversity includes a LOT of stuff, even some I forget about. Your goal is to finish a line, whether up or down, or diagonal, just like a bingo card. It’s a pretty genius idea, of you ask me.

My plan is to do a row (the middle row, across, if you’re wondering!) and after I finish those five books (hopefully!), I’ll read a lot of other diverse reads I’ve got lined up! I have a HUGE library haul ready to be picked up, and I can’t wait!

Without further ado, here’s my TBR!

For Mental Health Awareness, I’ve picked All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

18460392

I feel like I’m the last YA reader in the universe to read this one! I’ve been wanting to pick it up since it came out and I am FINALLY doing it! There’s a lot of hype surrounding it, so hopefully it lives up!

For Asian Main Character, I chose The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury.

21396155

Aladdin is one of my favorite Disney movies! Originally, when I picked up The Wrath and the Dawn earlier this year, I assumed it was an Aladdin retelling (it was actually anΒ A Thousand Arabian Nights retelling). However, this one even includes Aladdin in the plot!!! So!!! Yes!!! Excited!!! Side note: I did really want to read Not Your Sidekick for this square, but they don’t have it in stock at my library :(.

For my Free Space, I’m reading Dream Things True by Marie Marquardt.

23848212

I AM COUNTING DOWN THE DAYS TO GET THIS BOOK FROM THE LIBRARY. A modern-day Romeo and Juliet story between an undocumented immigrant and a wealthy, white Southerner? COUNT ME IN.

For the Own Voices square, I’m picking up More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.

19542841

I had no clue this was Own Voices until recently. The premise sounds incredible, and I have read nothing but scintillating reviews for this book! Let’s do it!

And last, but not least, for the Non-Western (real world) Setting, I’m grabbing Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed.

22521951

I have never read a book with a Pakistani main character. This one would technically still fall under the Asian Main Character spot as well. I honestly don’t know much about the inner-workings of arranged marriage, and I think this book is going to be really enlightening! PLUS that cover ❀ ❀

Now, as I mentioned before, I have a whole lot of other diverse books on my TBR for next month. However, despite the Christmas break, I just know I will not get to all of these BUT, it doesn’t hurt to try, right? Here are some of the diverse reads I’m hoping to pick up:

Are you participating in #DiversityDecBingo? Have you read any of the books on my TBR? What did you think of them? Do you have any diverse books that you live for? Tell me in comments! πŸ™‚

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

4 thoughts on “December TBR | My Take on #DiversityDecBingo

Leave a Reply

