My NaNoWriMo Failure

Well, as you can see from the title, this is not going to be my most cheery post.

Yeah. NaNoWriMo. It’s over! But it did not work in my favor…

I didn’t do awfully. In fact, I totaled 30,466 words, which is nothing to sneeze at. Plus, I really like my story and, although it needs a lot of work, I think it has a lot of potential to turn into something real.

I’m disappointed in myself, definitely, and there’s just no getting around that. I lost NaNo last year, and this year, I was sure I could beat it, get that 50k. And honestly, in the first 12 days, it was within my reach. I was actually ahead.Β Afterwards? I hit a rut. A huge, all-consuming rut that I couldn’t pull myself out of. For the remainder of month, I would only right 11,000 more words.

What went wrong? I’m not entirely sure. A lot. A little. However, if there’s one thing this NaNo round has taught me, it’s this: you need people.

You need a support system. Whether it be friends or family, that are going to push you to keep going, even when you want to stop, even when you feel like an awful writer, even when you’re positive that you can’t do it. I didn’t really have that.

I mean, sure, twitter was a blast. The sprints were what kept me going half the time, not to mention a great source of procrastination, but it’s not the same. I told my family about it and, yeah, they were supportive. But I didn’t get that push that I think I’d only be able to get from fellow writer friends. Maybe next year I’ll get more into the forums, invest time in my community’s write-ins. But, for now, I’m going to rest my fingers because my God are they tired. I’m going to store away my story to look at in a few weeks with new eyes, and I am going to put my NaNo playlist to bed because I’ve heard all those songs enough times to last me the rest of my life.

Because, even though I failed last time around, and this time, one thing will remain true: there’s always next year.

Congrats to all the NaNoWriMo winners out there! YOU DID IT! 50,000 words!

tumblr_mg0pi33law1rvszrdo2_500
It wouldn’t be a Jordyn post without a gif.

 

Did you win NaNo? Do you want to crawl under the covers and hide like I do? Tell me in the comments! πŸ™‚

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

8 thoughts on “My NaNoWriMo Failure

  1. Well I want to say, HUGE congratulations for writing 30K, it’s SUCH a great accomplishment, and you should feel proud of yourself. Sure, you didn’t reach the 50K but you still wrote a damn LOT and that’s awesome. After all, NaNo is made to make you write, and it did, so I’d say that’s a success! I hope you’ll want to keep on going with your story, and that you’ll keep on loving it πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. HEY 30K IS PRETTY STINKING GOOD. This was my first year…and I got 11k. *sighhh* I mean, it’s more than I’ve ever written before on a single story, and I just made the story up as I wrote it–super fun but super stressful yikes. I guess I just didn’t expect how HARD it would be, really. I didn’t really understand the time commitment…but I definitely do know. Homework and school makes it SO HARD😭. But I think I’m going to do Camp NaNoWriMo in April and July. Like you said, I’m actually really liking my story–it’s a fantasy–and I do want to continue it. Which is a GREAT feeling. But I totally get you–right now I kind of feel like a failure too, especially with all these “Completed NaNo Like a BOSS” posts and I’m just NO. NOOOOOOOOO. ANYWAY. Sorry for the rant!! But great job, seriously girl!!! I didn’t even make it through the whole month and you did!!!!! Okay, now I’m just going to go cry because I just finished the Rose & the Dagger and I’m having SUCH a book hangover. I JUST WANT MORE SHAZI AND KHALID AND EVERYONE ELSE helpppp. I’m due to go back into Far From a Madding Crowd…but idk if I can tackle a classic right now. Okay. Need to stop spazzing…😜
    ~Hermione
    P.S. Love your blog!

    Like

    1. AAAHHHH THANK YOU SO MUCH ❀❀ Don’t feel bad at all!!! My first time was last year, and I only got 8k, so kudos to you! Also kudos for doing a fantasy! I tried that, and it seems the world building is a little too much for me 😬 OH MY GOSH SHAZI AND KHALID AND ALL THE FEELS ADAJXHJECNW! That duology is one of my favorites! The world!!!! the descriptions!!! the supporting characters!!! EVERYTHING IS EXCELLENT!! Okay, a question that probably follows you everywhere you go but… is your name really Hermione?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol ikr!!!!! AND THAT EPILOGUE IN THE ROSE & THE DAGGER THO. 😒 soooo beautifulllll…… Awwww, thanks for the encouragement! πŸ’œ Pfft, UNFORTUNATELY my name is not really Hermione–that would be positively wicked though. It’s just a cover name for the blog😊
        ~Hermione

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey… don’t consider it as a loss, you wrote freaking 30k, so that’s huge! I only managed to reached 20k. But I do agree with the support thing, I wish I had a strong support system as well. But I am going to continue with my story even when NaNo is over and I hope you finish what you started as well! πŸ˜€ All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

