A Reading Year in Review | Goodbye 2016

I’m not going to say that this reading year sucked, because it didn’t. I read some great things – in fact, I even found my new favorite book/trilogy! Yay!

But, if I had to describe my year in books in one word, it would be… mediocre.

My multi-month reading slump made it difficult to keep a steady rhythm of reading. The whole pick up a new book, devour it, then pick up the next one. Rinse and repeat. That was last year’s reading. This year, not so much.

I read some great books, but not as many as last year, in quality and quantity. And here’s the weird thing – my average rating for books this year was really high at 4.3 stars, which, you would think, meant I read a bunch of fantastic books this year.

dwight-schrute-shakes-head-and-rolls-eyes

Again, not so much. When I looked back on the books I read this year to make a Top Ten Reads of 2016 post, I couldn’t even get to ten the first few times of scrolling through my Goodreads. I could only name around seven books that completely and utterly blew me away. I honestly don’t believe I was critical enough of books at the beginning of the year – if a book impressed me, I gave it five stars. Weird, I know. Ever since I started a blog, I’ve tried to be a more critical reader. I guess that’s something I need to be more aware of in the coming year: thinking before rating.

Plus, I didn’t reach my Goodreads reading challenge of 100 books, which was a little ambitious from the start. Compared with last years 79, I managed to get through 61 (hopefully 62, if I finish The Girl from Everywhere in the next few days), which is definitely nothing to sneeze at!

7a261df

It’s not all bad, though! This year, I learned a lot about the necessity of diversity in books. Having been a POC reader my entire life, I’ve always felt a little excluded when it comes to YA. It wasn’t until I started a blog and got a twitter that I learned there are so many more readers out there that feel the same way. I’m ashamed to say that the list of diverse books I’ve read is still so short, but excited because there are so many diverse and #ownvoices reads I’m planning on checking out in 2017. That’s one of my bright spots of 2016 – learning that I wasn’t alone in feeling left out by the YA world, that other people felt left out too sometimes, that more and more people are speaking out about it and writing more inclusive stories. It makes my heart warm just thinking about it. I know there’s still a long way to go, but I think some real progress was made this year, and every day more and more readers are taking a step in the right direction.

But enough of the heavy! The reading itself may not have been incredible, but there are a lot of bright sides to my bookish year!

I started my blog this year, and even though I’m just a newbie, I can’t imagine ever not being here! Even though I lost touch with my bookstagram, I plan on making a comeback in the new year, so look out for that! I finally got a twitter and am completely obsessed with it. I met some new book friends! Even though I had a bookstagram last year, I didn’t really gain the courage to reach out to people until this year.

I got to beta read a book guys! Probably the most exciting thing that has happened to me, ever. I don’t know how much I can say about it now, but I’ll definitely talk more about it closer to the book’s release in 2018!

And lastly, even though I mentioned not reading a bunch of fantastic books, I did read some awesome ones! In no particular order:

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

_dsc6223

SIx of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

_dsc6183

The Crown by Kiera Cass

_dsc6375

A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray

28960100

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20160123_191831000_ios

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

19542841

Farewell 2016 reading year! It has been a pleasure, but it’s time to move out of the way for 2017 – because I’m so done with you.

How was your reading year? I hope yours a bit more successful than mine was. What were some of your favorites this year? Anything in particular you’re really excited about for 2017, new books, events, etc.? Tell me in the comments! 🙂

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

6 thoughts on “A Reading Year in Review | Goodbye 2016

      1. Yeah, unfortunately this year just wasn’t my lucky year. It’s not that there weren’t 10 books that I didn’t enjoy, there were, but they didn’t BLOW ME AWAY, if that makes sense. But SoC and More Happy Than Not were fantastic, thanks!

        Like

  1. I’ve got copies of The Wrath and the Dawn and More Happy Than Not, so I’m really glad to see that they made your top books of 2016!

    And 62 books is a huge achievement! You should be really proud of yourself 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

