5 Books I Didn’t Expect to Love | Spoiler Alert: I Did!

Deciding what to read next is hard.

As bookworms, we know this. As bloggers, we especially know this. Who has time to read a book that they’re just not interested in? As such, I generally don’t bother picking up books that I’m not at least 70% sure I’ll enjoy. I mean, my TBR is begging for mercy as it is, and it just cannot afford the extra weight.

BUT! Every now and then I mess up. I judge a book too early, and I don’t give it a fighting chance to prove to me how utterly astonishing it is. Nevertheless, a good blogger can always admit her missteps, so here are a few books that I thought I would not enjoy that blew my socks off.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Finally read: October, 2016

19547856

I remember this book getting so much hype when it came out a few years ago. And of course, little thirteen-year-old me thought, ‘What’s the big deal?’ Hahaha… oops.

tenor

In my defense, based on the blurb, I thought this book would have a love triangle between Simon, Blue, and Martin. If you’ve been on this blog for more than five minutes, you probably know that, with a few exceptional exceptions, I’m not a fan of that trope.

I was sourly mistaken. Had I known that this book was going to be so adorable and filled with Oreos, it would’ve been right at the top of my TBR pile. I LOVE THIS BOOK.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Finally read: April, 2016

18798983

I didn’t want to read this book. At all. It had so much hype, a gorgeous cover, and still, I just didn’t want to. I don’t really remember why.

All I know is, when my sister got me this book for International Book Giving Day last year, I had to mask my disappointment at receiving a book that I assumed would only gather dust on my shelf.

Do you ever wish you could go back in time and smack some sense into past you?? The Wrath and the Dawn is one of the best books I’ve ever read! It has such a richly developed world, characters with so much depth, and one of the best complex, slow burn romances I’ve ever read. I highly recommend that you pick up this show-stopper.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Finally read: June, 2015

15749186

This is one of the cutest contemporaries that I have ever had the pleasure to read. Jenny Han creates this amazing protagonist, who is so relatable and wonderful and the dreamiest love interest, Peter Kavinsky. Ah! I just love him so much. You know those characters that just make you squeal when you think of them? That’s how I feel about Peter.

20693338

But I didn’t think I would. After reading the blurb I thought it would be a love… pentagon? Hexagon?? Bottom line: wasn’t interested. Oh, how wrong I was.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Finally read: August, 2015

11235712

Unlike the other books on this list, I tried to read this book. Multiple times. I just couldn’t get past those first few pages. I thought they were weird and totally not my thing. Ha. HA.

Another instance where I would really like to yell at 2015 Me. As soon as I gave this book an actual chance, I read it in one sitting. I was hooked on this series, and immediately picked up Scarlet, and then Cress because, ladies and gentlemen, you honestly can’t get enough of these characters. ALL THE STARS.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Finally read: September, 2016

23437156

I expect to be thoroughly yelled at in the comments for this, but when Six of Crows came out, I had no intention of picking it up. First of all, I read contemporary more often than not, so fantasies always have to work a little bit harder to get my attention.

Truthfully, after reading the blurb and finding out all the main characters had their own chapters, I thought that it would be far too confusing. I was, of course, incorrect.

This book is wonderful. It’s like the fantasy book version of The Italian Job (which is SUCH a great movie, by the way). The characters were fantastic and lovable (especially my favorite, Matthias), the plot was action-packed, the world-building was brilliant. It’s honestly time for me to just read the sequel already!


There you have it. Five books that I should’ve gotten to a long time ago. Better late than never, right?

Can you think of any books that you know love, that you were sure you wouldn’t? Do you love any of the above books as much as I do? How much yelling will it take for me to convince you to read them? Tell me in the comments! 🙂

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

Find me elsewhere: Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

15 thoughts on “5 Books I Didn’t Expect to Love | Spoiler Alert: I Did!

  1. I’ve read most of these (Cinder, Simon Vs. and To All The Boys) and they’re all so good! I remember back in 2014 my sister had a Cinder audiobook and I thought it sounded really weird and definitely wasn’t going to read it. Then I did and #NOREGRETS. Simon Vs. is SO CUTE OMG and I thought I’d find To All The Boys really cliched but instead it was super relatable. Plus I loved how the MC was biracial. I’ll basically read any YA with a biracial MC, let’s be honest. XD
    I really want to read Six Of Crows because it sounds really good and I should finish it.

    Like

  2. So glad you enjoyed Simon, Cinder and Six of Crows! Simon was one of the cutest books. I honestly wasn’t expecting to enjoy Cinder as much as I did either. I thought it was gonna be a typical YA fantasy, but something about it just kept me drawn in. I’ve yet to finish the series though (or read Crooked Kingdom) so I need to do that, haha!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a great list! I had a (dumb) bias toward Cinder because I didn’t like the cover, so I decided Never To Read It. But then I stumbled upon an audio of the first chapter and gave it a shot…and was so drawn in I went and bought the book right away. I still have yet to truly get started on it, but I’m really excited and I’m glad it’s on your list!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read and loved 3 of those books, namely Simon vs., TWATD and SoC! The same actually happened to me for all three, I did not really expect to love them because of hype and such and then i just fell for them hard hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great list of books you have here. I can say the same about Six of Crows. There was so much hype surrounding that book I knew I wouldn’t like it or at least it would have been a 3 star read for me. But I love that book and series.

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

