THE BOOKS OF 2017

Yes, I know this is the seventeenth time you’ve seen this on your timeline.

But I couldn’t resist sharing my faves of the year on here. However, I’m sure you will note that these aren’t merely the best books of 2017. It’s all the books that are worth mentioning. Confused? You shall see.

MOST DISAPPOINTING BOOKS OF 2017

These books aren’t necessarily my least favorites, but I was definitely expecting more from them.

Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee

I really, really wanted to love this one, because the concept was so cool. But the writing didn’t really do it for me, the plot was predictable, and it just kind of fell flat. But don’t write it off just because of me – I’ve read a lot of sparkling reviews and the rep is great!

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

I think most people were expecting a lot more than what The Love Interest gave. It’s hard to pinpoint exactly what I didn’t like about this book. The best explanation I can give is that I just… didn’t like it very much. For all the hype that was created, this book packed absolutely no punch.

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

I can say unequivocally that Meant to Be is my least favorite read of 2017. I love travel books where main character’s go sight-seeing, eat new foods, and explore new places. That’s why I was excited this book was set on a school trip to London – but there were so, so many things wrong with this one, that I’ll just leave my mini-review here if you care to read them.

_DSC1460

QUIET HEROES OF 2017

These books aren’t necessarily my favorites of the year, but they are the unsung heroes! Books without nearly enough hype in comparison to their awesomeness. (These are all releases from this year.)

Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser

What an underrated beauty! My friend Mia spent months convincing me to pick this up, and I have to say, she was right. Not only is the plot unique, the twists are fantastic, the romance is sweeping, and characters are so lovable, you’ll be dying for the sequel.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies Louise Gornall

This was one of my first reads of 2017, and I still can’t stop thinking about it. The mental health representation is ownvoices, and, from what I’ve read, fantastic. You need to add this to your 2018 TBR.

Shadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

This book is so freaking close to making my favorites list of this year. But even though it (just!) fell short, I will never stop recommending it. Do you love sci-fi? Do you hate sci-fi? IT DOESN’T MATTER. This swashbuckling space-opera will consume you either way.

Release by Patrick Ness

This is my first Ness book, and I think it was the perfect one to start with. Ever since I met him at YALLFest, I’ve wanted to read Release, and… wow. Emotional, moving, and just so… great.

2017 RELEASES I AM TOTALLY GETTING TO AT SOME POINT (HOPEFULLY)

Top 2017 releases that are on my TBR for next year.

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

I’m actually working on a post that explains why I haven’t picked this one up yet, but I will definitely be doing so in 2018! I’ve read nothing but awesome reviews so my hopes are pretty high.

If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak

I’ve been hyped for this book since last year. I even requested an ARC of it, though I did get denied. Thus, I bought it on release day. So why haven’t I read it yet? Because… my TBR is attempting to swallow me whole.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Pretty sure I am one of few YA readers that haven’t dived into this one yet, but Dimple, I promise, I’m coming next year to read your story.

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

I actually have a (semi) justifiable reason for why I haven’t read TBDATE yet – I don’t feel like sobbing uncontrollably. Which, if you’ve read a Silvera book, you know is an inevitability. I read about 100 pages of this last month and will, hopefully, get the guts to finish the rest next month.

Autoboyagraphy by Christina Lauren

This book is actually about a boy that is writing a book over the course of a few months, nursing a crush for a Mormon boy at the same time. It sounds emotional and adorable at the same time. I’m squealing just thinking about it.

_DSC1462.JPG

FAVORITE BOOKS READ IN 2017

Usually, this is the hardest list to make. But not this year. I didn’t necessarily read a lot of bad books, but quite a number of them were just so-so. The ones that were good, really stood out. If you follow me, this list probably isn’t a surprise because I talk about theses books… often, you could say.

Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Aimee Koffman

This book is living proof that I should always wait until the very last days of December before naming the best books of the year. I read this four days ago, and every time I think about it, my mind explodes. Seriously, this is the best sci-fi series I have ever read. I had about 3248 heart attacks the entire time. The characters, the action, the humor, the TWISTS. Obsidio is going to destroy me. 

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

WOW, is all I can say. Queen Leigh Bardugo does it again. I don’t think you need another person to describe how amazing her writing is, so I’ll just say this: read the book.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

I know everyone was reading this in 2016, but I had to put it on the list! For me, this was one of those “finished in a day” books. The most special part was the Jamaican rep. I’m actually half Jamaican, and seeing those elements represented was incredibly impactful for me.

The Gentlemen’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

This book ticked all of the boxes for me. Hilarious? Check. Flawed characters? Check. Compelling plot? Check. Marvelous romance? Check. And this year we get the companion starring Felicity! I’m beyond excited.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Again, if you don’t have the drive to pick up this masterpiece by now, you probably never will. But, in case you need any more convincing, my review is definitely on the gushing side. THUG is my absolute favorite book of 2017. I got my mom to read it. I got my book club to read it. I will never stop talking about how incredible this book is and how much it means to me.

_DSC1455


So those are “THE BOOKS” of 2017. While I don’t think I had a bad reading year, I’m not necessarily overjoyed with it. I barely read at all in the last three months of last year.

I read some really great books, but I also read a lot more “meh” books than usual. Either I just had bad luck with my choices, or I’m becoming more critical – I’d have my blog to thank for the latter.

How was your reading year? Any favorites you want to share? Or books that should definitely be steered clear of? Tell me in the comments! 🙂

P.S. I hope you have a happy new year filled with tea, stories, and a TBR prepared to swallow you whole.

Stay bookish,

Jordyn

 

Leave a comment